Please note: Integration of a Side Door user’s personal Zoom account with the Side Door platform has been discontinued as of Oct 13th 2020.

Opting to use a Side Door Zoom account for your performance will always mean your show has a 1000 participant capacity. The following information is still available for the posterity of any users who linked their account(s) or booked a(ny) show(s) before Oct 13th. All integrated Zoom shows booked on or after Oct 13th only use Side Door Zoom accounts, and thus the following information does not apply.

Zoom offers a variety of plans that can accommodate meetings (aka shows) of various sizes.

Please view Plans and Pricing on the Zoom website HERE, as they are subject to change.

For “Secure” Zoom shows (no shareable links)

You are able to use a Side Door Zoom account for a flat fee. The fee adjusts according to how many tickets you sell, and Side Door will take care of the capacity upgrades on your behalf. If you wish to continue using your own Zoom account, you will have the opportunity to do so under the “other” option.

Zoom Account Types

The Basic version of Zoom is free, and allows you to host up to 100 participants (99 excluding you) for a maximum of 40 minutes per meeting.

We suggest using a Pro account ($14.99USD / month), which has a maximum meeting duration of 24hrs for 100 participants. As the account administrator or owner of a Pro account, you also have advanced meeting controls, such as enabling and disabling guest recording, encryption, and chat and notifications, which may be good considerations for your show.

Depending on your ticket sales, you may need to bump up the capacity on your account with a “Large Meeting 500” ($50USD / month) or “Large Meeting 1000” ($90USD / month) add-on. We suggest doing this 24hrs in advance of your show so that your guests do not get locked out!

To increase your Zoom meeting’s capacity, you must:

  1. Upgrade your Zoom Account

  2. Purchase Large Meeting add-on

  3. Assign your Upgrade to your User

*NOTE* You do not need a “Business” or “Enterprise” account - a Pro account will suffice.

1. Upgrade your Zoom Account

You can purchase any upgrades by paying with credit card or paypal on the Zoom website, and by following these instructions:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal HERE.

  2. Select ADMIN.

  3. Click Account Management > Billing.

  4. On the Current Plan tab, select Upgrade Plan.

  5. Click Upgrade to Pro. ...

  6. Enter the number of licenses you need and select whether you would like to pay monthly or annual.

  7. Click Continue.

  8. Review the changes.

More details regarding account upgrades on the Zoom website HERE

2. Purchase Large Meeting add-on

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal HERE.

  2. Select ADMIN.

  3. Click Account Management > Billing.

  4. Scroll down to “Large Meeting” and click Add.

  5. Select either 500 or 1000 participants.

  6. Enter the number of licenses you need and select whether you would like to pay monthly or annual.

  7. Click Continue.

  8. Review the changes.

*NOTE* Upgrading from 500 to 1000 participants later will not refund any portion of the lesser Add-On. If you anticipate needing more than 500 participants, you might want to consider purchasing the 1000 participant add-on to not incur extra charges.

3. Assign your Upgrade to your User

This is an extra step that is sometimes required. We highly encourage you to make sure that your recently purchased upgrade is, in fact, assigned to your user. Otherwise, your guests may be locked out of your show despite the fact that you’ve paid for the extra capacity.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal HERE.

  2. Select ADMIN.

  3. Click User Management > Users.

  4. Locate or search for the user who you want to assign a license to.

  5. Click Edit at the end of the user entry.

  6. This will open a window where you can select the license you would like to assign. Choose the radio button for the size of the license, if it is not automatically selected.

  7. Click Save.

  8. The license is now applied to the user and they can use it immediately.

Subscription Cancellation

Zoom is a subscription-based service, which means that your plan renews every month or year (depending on the term you choose). You can cancel your subscription at any time during your plan term to cancel the auto-renewal of your subscription.

Did this answer your question?